The World Cup

world cup trophyInstituted in 1953, the World Cup is an annual competition between nations, represented by teams of two professionals. It was originally known as the Canada Cup in memory of its founder, Canadian philanthropist, John Hopkins, who envisaged a "way of bringing nations together". It took its current name in 1967.

Over forty nations compete in four days of competition. The format is 72 holes of strokeplay. Besides team honours, the individual with the lowest score is also awarded a prize. A rich variety of nations have won the cup from Wales to Japan. The USA have won more than anyone else. Strangely neither Scotland nor England have been victorious.